Mastering our thoughts

by Dandy

Do you ever have moments where you think everything is out of control? That there’s chaos and turmoil whirling about you? Moments where you are short-tempered and sarcastic to your loved ones? I certainly do. Sometimes I huff and puff, and stomp around the house with an ugly scowl on my face. I say things I later regret. I feel the physical symptoms in my body. My face is hot and flushed, my heart races, my mouth goes dry, and my head starts to pound. I feel that loss of control and it distresses me even more, because I’m letting it happen. Then I feel shame for loosing control over myself. Shame for showing my partner my ugly behavior.

I like to think of myself as an advanced human being. I contemplate, I read voraciously, I study. I constantly seek to better myself. But in those moments of anger and distress I blame others. In those moments I feel I am a victim of my environment. Something made me feel that way. In those moments it’s like being in a black hole.
Our thoughts exist to create situations, events, and circumstances to reflect back to us what we really believe. Our thoughts help to create our experiences. What we experience is from what we believe, or think about. To change our experiences we have to change our thoughts.

We attract experiences to us that match our energy pattern – the energy created by our thoughts. Having a positive attitude comes from the way we think.  Positive thoughts literally puts us in touch with positive experiences.

 

If I believe that life is hard and unfair, then it will be so.  If I believe there is chaos in my house and life, then there will be.  If I believe I have no control over myself, then I won’t.  If I believe anxiety leads me, then it will.  Realizing that my thoughts and beliefs determine my experiences, will stop me in my tracks in those distressing moments.

 I believe the next distressing moment I have I will be able to keep my energy positive.  I believe I will be able to gain my composure and not make sarcastic comments.  The next distressing moment I have I will experience positive thoughts.  So bring it on life!

“The life of inner peace, being harmonious and without stress, is the easiest type of existence.”  Norman Vincent Peale

22 Comments to “Mastering our thoughts”

  1. What an empowering post!

    I believe in my own amazing power to accomplish whatever I set out to do!

    Alex

    • Alex,
      I’m so glad you found it empowering. It is really helpful to know that we are more in control than we thought. We don’t have to give away our power to uncontrolled emotions. It’s a tough habit to get into. But it is all true!
      Thanks, Dandy

  2. This is the reason that I always try to find a positive side to any situation. Then I don’t find myself getting stressed out, angry or just plain annoying. Whether it is a child spilling there milk or some one trying to control your day. There is always something to learn.
    Debbie

  3. Hi Dandy,

    Nice post! Our thoughts really a huge effect on how we feel and what we attract. After all, we can’t have an emotion without first having a thought, which is why we have to be careful what we let in our mind and make sure that it is positive. Thanks for sharing

    • Thank you Dia! I’m so glad you liked this post. I want people to know that they are more in charge of their emotions than they realize. Our emotions influence everything. So it might as well be a positive influence!

      Dandy

  4. yes that’s true dear
    we need to learn how to be in control no matter what

  5. Hi Dandy,

    Nice article!

    I agree with you that we have to change our thoughts to change our experiences. I have found that the main reason I lose control or gain a pessimistic view of events or challenges is simply because my thoughts were not positive.

    Even so I have also gain greater control over my thoughts when I learned to accept the things that happen. One would not rage at the heavens if a thunderstorm occurs. It is simply a fact of life. We can either choose to remain indoors, or go out with an umbrella or rain coat. By focusing on the solution instead of the problem, I master and guide my thoughts towards productive action.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi,
      Thanks so much for the thoughtful comment. We are on the same page! You are so right when you say focus on the solutions instead of the problems. We will move faster out of the problem by staying positive and solution oriented. Also acceptance is everything!
      Thanks so much,
      Dandy

  6. Hi Dandy,

    I needed to read this! Sometimes, I get down and I am negative about a certain thing in my life, that I know I will never be able to change.

    Thanks for helping me in this area, so that I can always be positive about the issue that really isn’t an issue at all. It is I who makes it such a big issue.

    Enjoyed your post, keep up the good work!

    Take care,

    Evelyn

    • Oh Evelyn I’m so happy you liked my post and I’m glad it helped you. I too get negative about certain things. I know what my triggers are. Sometimes I can avoid the things that cause me distress, sometimes I can’t. It is all about acceptance and figuring out a way in which I’m not hurting and for me that is turning my negativity to positivity. It is very hard. It takes a certain amount of mental energy, but then so does negativity. I’m thrilled your reading my blog. It means the world to me Evelyn, because I respect your advice!!

      Thanks, Dandy

  7. hello dandy
    how are you?
    count me in on having those occasional outbursts and feeling bad afterwards.
    i couldnt agree more with the statement Positive thoughts literally puts us in touch with positive experiences.
    our thoughts have a way of shaping our personality, creating life scenes and determining our responses to the various issues of life.
    i subscribe to the notion that construtive thoughts bring about constructive results and all this is within reason.
    take care and enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Ayo!!
      I’m glad you found my post helpful. By having positive thoughts not only do we help ourselves, but we help those who are around us. It is easier for them if they deal with us when we have that positive mindset. We feed off each others vibes and if we give out positive vibes we will get them back from others! It can be quite powerful. Thanks so much for reading my blog, friend.
      Take care, Dandy

  8. You said it! Life is all about attitude – the better our attitude, the better our life.

    I read somewhere once (I think it may have been in Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol, actually, though I’m not sure) about a theory that if enough people WILL the same thing at once, that thing will happen. I think this can definitely apply on a smaller scale too – if we will our lives to be good, and if we have a positive attitude about it, then that’s how things are going to turn out.

    • Hi Serena,
      Thank you for your thoughtful comment and for reading my blog. Today I’m going to will myself to have a good day!!! Check back on my blog. There’s more good stuff to come!

      Take care, Dandy

  9. Hi Dandy!

    I LOVE this post! My first blog, Think For Money . Com, was built on this exact concept! We really do live the life of our thoughts. If we think negativity, meaning it’s our primary focus, then our lives will reflect those thoughts. The great news is that the opposite is equally true! If we focus on the positive, our attitude and life will reflect that! Isn’t that awesome! I get so excited about this topic.

    You know, this concept seems so basic, so very fundamental but many live every day of their lives without this awareness. That we just have to change!

    Dandy, wonderful people like you are the ones who ARE changing things. You make a differnce and I thank you for that.

    Have an awesome day!

    • Keith!!
      Thanks so much for your lovely compliment!! That made my morning! I’m excited about this topic too. You and I are living proof that positive thoughts bring us positive experiences. They also bring us positive people when we need them. Thanks for your support on my blog Keith! Have a wonderful weekend!
      Dandy

  10. What a perfect reminder that at the end of the day, all our imperfections make us perfectly human.

    You picked such a perfect picture for this post (you got a lot of perfect going on.)

    I remind myself to do a reset and choose a better path with a simple one-liner reminder … “are you thinking the thoughts that serve you?”

  11. This is so true. You can’t repeatedly say one thing and expect the opposite.

    A good question to ask yourself is “If someone spoke to me the way I speak to myself would I be their friend?” If the answer is ‘no’ then you really need to take some time out, reflect on who you really are and stop beating yourself up.

Leave a Reply

